Bong Lacson, Jeffrey Ferrer runaway winners in Negros Occidental

BACOLOD CITY, Philippines – Top officers of Negros Occidental have been proclaimed winners of their respective races on Wednesday, May 11.

Governor Eugenio Jose Lacson of the Nationalist People’s Coalition and Vice Governor Jeffrey Ferrer of the National Unity Party have secured contemporary mandates for second phrases with vast margins over their challengers.

The governor completed with 933,572 votes towards former Bacolod City administrator John Orola of Pederalismo ng Dugong Dakilang Samahan (PDDS), who solely managed 57,701 votes even after securing the endorsement of President Rodrigo Duterte. Independent candidate Maria Socorro Sibulan bought 16,534.

Lacson is among the many few provincial officers who declared assist for the presidential bid of Vice President Leni Robredo.

Ferrer, the principle campaigner of UniTeam presumptive president Ferdinand Marcos Jr. and working mate Sara Duterte within the province, garnered 816,938 votes towards his rival, unbiased candidate Jonry Gargarita with 70,374.

Both Lacson and Ferrer coalesced their two native blocs, Love Negros and United Negros Alliance, and campaigned for one another regardless of their completely different presidential bets.

They issued constant requires Negrenses to respect one another’s decisions and never let nationwide preferences have an effect on their native votes.

Marcos mayors erode Leni’s vote in Negros Occidental

Both officers expressed optimism for higher progress within the province with the proclamation on Tuesday, March 10 of former congressman Alfredo “Albee” Benitez because the winner in Bacolod’s mayoral race.

“The almost unanimous vote given to us by the Negrense is a manifestation of the approval of what we have done in the past three years, and we will take this as an inspiration and a reminder that we should continue to do even better,” Lacson instructed reporters after the proclamation.

Lacson and Ferrer mentioned they’re anticipating higher synergy and cooperation between the province and its unbiased and highly-urbanized capital metropolis. Province officers and native chief executives cited this motive in 2021 as they staged an unprecedented show of assist for a candidate within the unbiased metropolis.

Ferrer mentioned he met with Lacson, Benitez, and profitable sixth District congressional wager Mercedes Alvarez on the sidelines of the proclamation, to debate find out how to push their One Negros Region dream to turn into regulation.

“It needs to be a law,” Ferrer mentioned at a press convention, referring to the ups and downs of that dream, which was a short-lived actuality: It was born in 2015 by an govt order of then-President Benigno Aquino III however his successor, President Rodrigo Duterte, dissolved the Negros Island Region in 2017.

WINNERS. Bacolod City mayor-elect Albee Benitez and Negros Occidental Governor Bong Lacson, who supported his race within the unbiased capital metropolis, in a light-weight second on the sidelines of the proclamation of provincial election winners. (Ronnie Baldonado)

Four unopposed congressional candidates, together with sixth District Representative Mercedes Alvarez, have been additionally proclaimed as winners.

The different three have been 1st District Representative Gerardo Valmayor, former 2nd District consultant Alfredo Marañon, and 4th District Representative Juliet Marie Ferrer, spouse of the vice governor.

Benitez’s brother, Francisco Benitez, additionally received his reelection bid as consultant of the third District, with 204,301 votes towards Bernard Ferraris who solely secured 16,967.

In the province’s fifth District, Representative Marilou Arroyo, sister-in-law of former president Gloria Arroyo and sister of the late congressman. Ignacio Arroyo, misplaced to former vice governor Emilio Yulo III, who ran as an unbiased candidate

Yulo garnered 118,558 votes, whereas Arroyo completed with 76,115 votes.

Other unopposed winners have been the 11 mayoral bets, together with 9 incumbents, within the province:

  • Mayor Nicholas Yulo of Bago City
  • Mayor John Rey Tabujara of Cauayan
  • Mayor Marvin Malacon of EB Magalona
  • Mayor John Paul Alvarez of Ilog
  • Mayor Manuel Escalante of Manapla
  • Mayor Jose Maria Alonso of Pontevedra
  • Enzo Suatengco of Pulupandan
  • Vice Mayor Narciso Javelosa of Sagay City
  • Mayor Marxlen Dela Cruz of Salvador Benedicto
  • Mayor Renato Gustilo of San Carlos City
  • Mayor Gina Lizares of Sipalay City

Most of them belong to political dynasties with a number of relations serving concurrently.

Family affair

Other profitable mayoral and vice mayoral candidates within the province’s 9 cities and cities have been household tandems: guardian and youngster, husband and spouse, and siblings.

Isabela Mayor Irene Montilla received her reelection bid whereas son Juan Miguel Montilla was elected vice mayor.

In La Castellana, Mayor Rhumyla Nicor-Mangilimutan was reelected whereas her father, former mayor Alberto Nicor Jr., was elected as vice mayor.

Binalbagan Mayor Alejandro Mirasol was profitable in his reelection bid whereas spouse Mary Ann Mirasol received as vice mayor.

In Hinigaran, Mayor Nadie Arceo was reelected, whereas spouse Mary Grace Arceo was elected as vice mayor.

Unopposed sibling candidates in Sipalay City, Ilog, and Salvador Benedicto additionally received their reelection bids: Mayor Ma. Gina Lizares and Vice Mayor Oscar Montilla Jr. of Sipalay City, Mayor Paul Alvarez and Vice Mayor Genaro Rafael Alvarez of Ilog, and Mayor Marxlen Dela Cruz and Vice Mayor Nehemiah Dela Cruz Jr. of Salvador Benedicto.

In Pulupandan, Enzo Suatengco, who changed his father mayoral candidate Antonio Suatengco who died in February 2022, received unopposed, whereas cousin Mayor Miguel Peña received as vice mayor and not using a challenger.

Albee Benitez’s son, Javi Benitez, additionally received as mayor of Victorias City, whereas his uncle, Jun Bantug, was elected vice mayor.

Two mayors misplaced their reelection bids.

Silay City Mayor Mark Golez, who was gunning for his third and last time period, misplaced to former vice mayor Joedith Gallego, who received with 37,643 votes to the incumbent’s 34,725.

Kabankalan City Mayor Pedro Zayco fell to rival Barangay Tan-awan kagawad Benjie Miranda, with simply 200 votes separating them.

Miranda completed with 36,889 votes and Zayco with 36,611. – Rappler.com

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.